Hi Alfie here!  Today I did another summer learning journey task called creature! creation!  This task was about creating your own creature hybrid.  I picked 3 creatures to create my hybrid, the first animal I picked was an emperor penguin, the second one i picked was a seal and the last animal I picked was an Orca. Then I drew the picture  which was easy because i could imagine what it looked like. but then I just needed the name after 10 minutes of thinking of a name the name Emperorsorca  came to mind.now here’s the results

Emperorsorca is an ocean predator with the body of a seal, the beak and yellow crown of an emperor penguin and the sharp teeth, blowhole and fin of an Orca whale.

Its found in the cold icy waters of southern New Zealand in underwater  caves and feeds on crabs, fish, carcass, shrimp, seabirds, and starfish. There is only 7 left in the world making it very highly endangered.

 

 

One thought on “Summer learning journey creature crafting

  1. Hi Alfie,

    Simon here from the Summer Learning Journey team. The emperorsorca looks very scary! You’ve done a fantastic job of combining these three animals to create one scary looking beast. I am glad I don’t go swimming down that end of New Zealand! Although it does look like it feeds on smaller creatures, so humans might be alright! It must be quite a large creature if it has seal and orca parts to it. How large would you say it is? In my head I’m picturing it to be the size of a small boat!

    I really like how you included colour into your drawing and have shown the yellow parts from an emperor penguin and the black & white that comes from an orca. Ka pai!

    Keep up the good work!

    Ngā mihi,
    Simon (SLJ)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *